Khaoc Versus: Bunny Edition – Phase Two

December 29, 2012

Move Zig!

You know what you doing?

I’m not sure that I can say “yes.”

Here is the old image:

Khaoc Versus Bunny under-painting, Micron and acrylic

Khaoc Versus Bunny under-painting, Micron and acrylic

Here’s how it looks now:

Khaoc Vs Bunny, mixed on Illustration board.

Khaoc Vs Bunny, mixed on Illustration board.

I did a color study on Photoshop, then commenced with the real-world painting. I painted it a lot like a watercolor. I went in with acrylic washes and blocked in all the elements- with special attention given to the color gradients in each area (that’s where the digital color study really helped). Then I made more specific color washes with acrylic – like the decals and armor pieces on the bunny. Then I used lots of markers, followed by pens, and finally colored pencils to tighten and add detail.

I learned that I have to go darker with the initial drawing. I spent too much time going over certain areas again and again trying to darken them, thus redrawing them several times. I also wish that I had added more color variety and gradients, overall. But this is my first attempt at completing a painting in this particular style, so I have a lot to learn about the method.

Leave a Reply

