Khaoc Versus: Bunny Edition

December 22, 2012

Here’s a piece I’m working on as a submission to Spectrum this year. I’m also submitting the two Heavy Metal pieces in my gallery. Maybe I’ll get lucky this year!

I’m going to update this post with pictures of the process, although it’s pretty boring, I think. This piece will be done by December 31st at the latest. So make sure to check back to see the finished version.

This piece started as any other would – as a thumbnail. I drew a larger version on 11X17 illustration board in pencil… I went over the pencils in micron and black acrylic washes to create the tonal under-painting you see here.  The next step is to get a color study done on photoshop, then back to color acrylic washes and marker work in the real world. It takes a long time, but I’ve learned that the acrylic under-painting is really worthwhile considering it won’t get washed out by the alcohol-based markers later.

Micron and acrylic

Khaoc Versus Bunny under-painting, Micron and acrylic

Check back for updates!

Leave a Reply

