Khaoc Pencil

December 3, 2009

I was working on the Khaoc pencil project I described below, but it turns out that the illustration board I bought just isn’t quite working the way on wanted it to. I’m too poor right now to afford more illustration board (damn you rent!), and I am pretty frustrated with it. I’m just gonna call it finished:

Right now I am working on a short Walden Holiday Special featuring everyone’s favorite fat man – Santa Claus! The imagery is set to the lyrics of “Here Comes Santa Claus.”  Pretty bizarre song, actually. I figured I needed to practice my new technique on a smaller scale before I headed into the big script. It’s going to be bloody and it’s going to be scary.

One side note – it’s funny how the end of the world no longer seems scary. It’s so watered-down and cliche  in film that you can squeeze a PG-13 rating out of it *cough* 2012 *cough*.  The apocalypse is  so harmless that even Disney is tackling it, now. But that’s what my brother and I want to correct – bring back the brutality and the overwhelming horror that should be the trademark of the apocalyptic/post-apoc genre.

Hopefully I will be able to get this thing done in time for Christmas.

Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

